Close Menu
ABL Logo
Link to the Link to the Link to the

ABL named a finalist for ‘Law Firm of the Year’ at the Australasian Law Awards

Intellectual Property, Native Title & Public Interest Law, Restructuring & Insolvency
Star awards iStock 1
Arnold Bloch Leibler has been announced as a finalist for Law Firm of the Year at the 2018 Australasian Law Awards.

For our nomination in the Law Firm of the Year category, we have been recognised for our excellence in client service and involvement in iconic, history-making matters, where lawyers have shown courage, pushed the envelope and/or broken new ground.

Historic Namatjira copyright matter

One such matter was the historic return of the copyright into the lifetime works of Australia’s most iconic Aboriginal artist, Albert Namatjira, back to his family.  34 years after the Northern Territory Government sold the copyright into the works, a Deed was executed on 13 October 2017 assigning the copyright to our clients, the Namatjira Legacy Trust. Partners Zaven Mardirossian and Peter Seidel, and lawyer Gabriel Sakkel worked alongside senior partner, Mark Leibler to achieve the ground breaking outcome.

Arrium Group administration

ABL assembled a similarly well-coordinated, multi-disciplinary team to advise administrators KordaMentha in all aspects of the Arrium administration, with the successful sale finalised in July 2017. ABL’s development of a landmark substantive asset consolidation deal broke new ground, allowing the assets to be shuffled by keeping the debt separate. The final deal was described as having saved the town of Whyalla, as well as Arrium itself.  The Arrium Group administration has been shortlisted for ‘Insolvency & Restructuring Deal of the Year’.

Insolvency & Restructuring Deal of the Year

As well as Law Firm of the Year, ABL were also named finalists in the category of Insolvency & Restructuring Deal of the Year for three deals:
  • the Arrium Group administration
  • the Slater & Gordon restructure
  • Ten Network administration
Winners of 2018 awards will be announced at the awards ceremony on Thursday 17 May 2018. Click here for a full list of finalists.

Read next